4

October 19th 2016

So again I’m late, I was supposed to write this on the 12th, but better late than never i guess don’t hate me please?

This week has practically flown by, it didn’t even feel like a week.

On the 5th of October, I went and saw a free show at the Goodman Theatre. They had a free New Works festival going on; people would be able to go see these new plays in their workshop setting, and then give feedback to the playwright and creative team after the show was over. The show I saw was titled Blue Skies Process about an office that created shapes and the struggle of creating something new. The show was very minimalistic, in the sense that the stage was fairly clear except for a white board, and a conference table with chairs. The show was really interesting, for the most part it was mundane but the fact that the show was mundane spoke volumes about how boring forced creativity is. The awkwardness and tension dragged through the show until towards the end to where it built up to a physical fight. The resolution was a blank slate: exactly where they started.

I really liked the play, its simplicity made it complex, and perfectly captured how it is to be ‘creative’.

That weekend, we went to the cast party for freshman showcase. I guess it was technically one of my first college parties? I’m not big on parties so I was kinda out of my comfort zone honestly, but it was fun.

Also, Parker and I ventured to Michaels Craft Supply store that Friday, and I got all the supplies I needed for my tech class. I had scenic design. My instructor (who’s also my supervisor for paint crew) had a giant bag of play scripts that we had to pick out of, and then design a set for the show. I had the play Death and the Maiden. It was really interesting. It centered around a married couple in the 1990s in Chile. Go look it up, good play. Our assignment for the design was practically to make a mood board with paint swatches, but I decided to literally create a to-scale model of the set. Because I felt like it.

Austin came to visit from the 8th-11th. We’re not a couple anymore, but he is my friend and he visited on his fall break. Sunday we went to the aquarium, and to Second City that night. Monday flew bye with classes, as did Tuesday. Austin left Tuesday evening.

Tuesday night, Claire and I sat in the study room and ate an entire watermelon together. I’m eating healthy, Mom, don’t worry.

Thursday, in makeup class we made ourselves into fictional characters, so I became the witch from Into the Woods! I absolutely listened to the entire soundtrack of the show during class too. Obviously.

This past weekend, was CCPA’s run for their second Miller Theatre show, Top Girls. Freshman showcase was in the Miller in the beginning of the school year. The Miller is our black box space, and the seats are manipulative so we can make the space a thrust stage, proscenium, in the round, etc. It seats about 80 people, and I love it. I’ve daydreamed about directing/producing shows in the space several times.

Top Girls is a contemporary play that examines women’s role in the workplace, and the impact of success. The play is definitely one that makes you think, its not a play you walk out of and say “wow grand i just watched a good play” and move on with your life. PLAYS ARE SUPPOSED TO MAKE YOU THINK!

The theatre conservatory has a big/little program like in sororities: the seniors and freshman are partnered up and are mentors/buddies/whatever-you-wanna-call-them throughout the year! My Big’s name is Caroline, and she was in the cast of Top Girls and she was amazing. The entirety of the cast had a dialect and it was very impressive. There were several dialects happening at once, and no one took on a different dialect than their character had, which is really hard and very impressive.

Sunday I had paint crew hours and hung gems on fishing line for our upcoming MainStage, Middletown. Our set is really really cool. We have small doll houses and random props and things hanging on fishing line from the grid above the stage, and at times during the show, they’re raised and lowered. I’m really excited to see it; the show opens Friday night!

I got my headshots from the 4th back on Monday! I love them. I worked with a CCPA Alum, Teddy Gales. CCPA PEOPLE IF YOURE READING THIS GO GET YOUR HEADSHOTS DONE WITH THIS FANTABULOUS MAN (TG Photography, like them on the facebook)

Tuesday, my Hogwarts robe (for Halloween) came in along with my absentee ballot, so as a legal US Adult, I filled out my absentee ballot and voted in my first presidential election while wearing a Gryffindor robe.

Today was good, I baked slutty brownies yesterday between classes (layer of chocolate chip cookie, oreo, then brownie. I also made a batch with a layer of nutella.) and I brought some into work today for tea time. Every Wednesday this semester, we take a break drink some tea and eat snacks for half an hour. SO I made brownies because brownies.

I hope everyone’s week(s) have been well! Love you all!

14717190_943674552405276_7449277814912288988_n.jpg
Voting as a proud Gryffindor
14712624_1247763378614261_6450833965470346087_o.jpg
NEW HEADSHOTS BY TG PHOTOGRAPHY!

 

3 thoughts on “4

  1. I liked your comments on Blue Skies Process. The company I worked for was kinda like this. They always asked on you annual job evaluations what your goals were for the coming year. I’ve never been a person who could come up with an idea on the spur of the moment. And this play shows that happening in the corporate world. Certain jobs/careers need no spotenaity. Just git-er-done. Basically it was manufacturing. Nothing more, nothing less.

    Like

Leave a comment